What's in a domain name?

So I've been googling and anywho'ing all the council candidates for my list, and I even decided to get a domain: http://CouncilCandidates.info - maybe I'll get a cheap hosting plan and put this stuff up there in a more straightforward format, and do a little campaign blogging. I've called a few candidates, who have mostly been very helpful and forthcoming with their contact information, and I've had a couple of interesting conversations with candidates that I previously knew nothing about.

Anyway, I hunted down Donna Reed Miller's campaign by calling her regular council office (which I'd wanted to avoid, believing firmly that incumbents shouldn't be campaigning out of their government offices). Once I was talking to campaign HQ, I was somewhat surprised to find out that she does in fact have a campaign Web site: http://www.FriendsofDRM.com (though the campaign worker who took my call had to put me on hold for a few minutes to find the URL). It is a fabulous example of bad mid-90's Web design, but it's there. But I'm wondering: How much could she get from the RIAA for the domain name?

Greg Paulmier

His website is pretty hilarious too: Paulmierforcouncil.cjb.net. It sort of looks like something that a little kid would make for a school project.

I can't tell if it's full of ads because Greg desperately needs the campaign funds or he just likes GoogleSense.

---
http://benwaxman.com

Aw, man. He had that site

Aw, man. He had that site four years ago (note that all the links are to pages on a tripod account called gregpaulmier2002). I had seen a couple links to it, but hadn't added it to my list yet in hopes that he was abandoning it for something a little better. But there's new content, so I guess he's going with it, so I added it. C'mon people. $10 gets you a domain and two months hosting at godaddy.com, with a whole bunch of easy-to-install blog and content management systems. But I guess there's still a bit of a digital knowledge divide.

Greg is more of a get your

Greg is more of a get your hands dirty talking to the poeple in the streets kind of guy. That's why I'm supporting him. But yeah, the website is pretty bad.

Interesting, and maybe also in violation of the law

If he gets a single dollar, that would seem to violate state laws against corporations giving to candidates.

I'm pretty sure that the ads

I'm pretty sure that the ads are there because the site is free to use.

That makes it a little

That makes it a little different, but, not really. I am not saying you will see a lawsuit, but, yeah, I suspect it is still illegal- because it would just seem then to be an in-kind contribution from a corporation who is subsidizing his website. Which is still against the law.

i'd take a look at 1 and 1

i'd take a look at 1 and 1 for hosting

i've used them for a while and everything has been easy

you can have a bunch of different domains under your account, so you don't squander hosting on a one time (or every four years) thing.

Hosting and DNS service are pretty cheap...

DRM's site unintentionally funny

Oh, it ain't just the look.

Highlights:

"Development" is just text, no link.

"Legislation" leads to a page that says only "More to Come..."

On the "Links" page, none of the "Community Resources" links exist.

There's some cosmic ironic commentary at work here, methinks.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Syndicate content